Students honoured at UCCI’s annual convocation



Students honoured at UCCI’s annual convocation

The University College of the Cayman Islands honored 208 students Saturday for making either the President's or Dean's lists, while spotlighting 32 of those students with high-achievement awards during the school's annual convocation.

UCCI President and CEO Stacy McAfee said the students represented some of the best the Cayman Islands has to offer.

“Through resilience, dedication and hard work across the disciplines, you embody excellence,” McAfee told the honourees. “You’re making a positive impact on the world around us. Now, more than ever, the world needs your contributions.”

Jada A.E. Connor was one of two top award winners of the night. She was presented with the Board of Governors award, while Kimberly Perry received the Mary Anne Cannon Award, an award named after a former director of UCCI’s student services department.

Kimberly Czantal Tigley received several awards including the Bachelor’s Overall Highest Achiever, Bachelor in Finance Highest Achiever, Highest Achiever with a Minor in Economics and Highest Achiever in Finance Courses.

Kristen Rankin presented the honourees’ response.

“This is not the end,” Rankin told her fellow students, before singing snippets of inspirational songs by Destiny’s Child and Kelly Clarkson. “Keep up your hard work. Make this night a motivating factor for you.”

UCCI Board of Governors Chairman Mark Scotland also implored the students to continue to achieve.

“Look back on what you’ve done and use that to build on,” Scotland said. “You’ll be seen as a leader.”

Kayla Shibli gave the alumna address. A human resources manager for Rawlinson and Hunter, Ltd. Shibli talked about receiving her associate, bachelor’s and master’s degrees at UCCI. In 2019, she became an adjunct lecturer. She encouraged the students to find and pursue a career that they love.

“We are here to blossom, flourish and fulfill our destinies,” she said. “I believe you are destined to do great things.”

Echoing some of the other speakers of the night, acting Deputy Chief Officer Lyneth Monteith of the Ministry of Education, Youth, Sports, Agriculture and Lands said this year’s students needed to be commended for the additional factor of dealing with the Covid-19 pandemic.  

“These achievements are even more outstanding when one considers the challenges and obstacles many of you have faced throughout the year,” Monteith said.

President McAfee told the recipients their awards were but a first step.

“As a UCCI student scholar,” she said, “you have an obligation to pay the gift of your education forward, to benefit your local and global communities.”

Twenty-four community partners sponsored the highest achievers awards which went to the following students:

Nathaniel Forbes, Camilo Diaz Brown, Sabrina Douglas, Natalie Quinn, Jadon Williams, Lorie Godoy, Alan Cubas, Christina Ulett, Kharley Rivers, Cliffany Thompson, Charles A. Panton-Sigas, Alexi Barrett, Colleen Williams, Tishanna Campbell, Dreshna James, Jevon Bush, Kevin Ramirez, Sharesse McDonald, Desmond Prout, Justine Jervis, Roshekia Taylor, Denry Howell, Lorie Godoy, Kimberly Czantal Tigley, Tonia Ebanks-McLaughlin, Kirk Foster, Chloe McLellan, Gueva Richards, Simone Whittaker and Beth McField.

 More information about UCCI is available by visiting or by calling 345-623-8224.